Museum of Science and Industry

Museum of Science and Industry

When I was in Chicago in the beginning of the month I went to Jackson Park for the first time. I went to do a free walking tour of the grounds of the 1893 Columbian Exposition given by Friends of the White City. I got down there almost two hours early and explored around the Museum of Science and Industry. I didn’t go in the museum, but it is the most beautiful place I have seen in any city I’ve been to. Plus, it was a really beautiful day out while I was down there.

The above card doesn’t look too exciting, right? There’s also a card on my post of Jackson Park from 2011 here. But below are pictures I took while I was there.

photo 1 (2)

View of the back of the museum. While I was standing on the steps of the building I ran into a security guard who was telling me more about the museum, and he said they do events out there.

photo 5

The back of the museum, off to the right-hand side.

photo 4 (2)

View while standing on the back steps.

photo 3 (2)

Close up of back with what I am calling “statue columns” are. They were also along each side of the building.

Clearly, non-photographic postcards don’t do the museum justice. A quick refresher on the museum that I also had in my other post- this was the Palace of Fine Arts during the 1893 Columbian Exposition. Before becoming the Museum of Science and Industry 1933, it was the Field Museum of Natural History.

This entry was posted in Chicago and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Museum of Science and Industry

  1. Mandy says:

    I think it looks nice in some postcards. I have this one from 1906.

Leave a Reply

