Buckingham Fountain

Well I am back from Chicago and it was a great trip! Of course it went by too fast.

Today’s post is inspired by my visit to Buckingham Fountain. I haven’t been there before, and we were walking back from Shedd Aquarium and decided to go past it. Buckingham Fountain is a popular postcard subject, which can be seen on white borders and linens quite often.

Seeing it on postcards is nothing like seeing it in person. It is so beautiful, we went and saw it two different days.

Pic

I couldn’t even get all the water in one shot. For 20 minutes every hour, the water goes 150 feet in the air, so we were there at the perfect time both days.

Fountain at Night

Here is a night view of the fountain. The back reads:

“The World’s largest fountain of its type, built of Georgia Marble, a gift to the city by Miss Kate Buckingham in memory of her brother, who was a trustee and benefactor of the Art Institute. At night colored lights play upon the sparkling waters as they leap seventy to ninety feet into the air.”

The fountain was dedicated on May 26, 1927. It was inspired by fountains at Versailles, and has 134 jet spray devices.

Part of Fountain

This entry was posted in Chicago and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buckingham Fountain

  1. Mandy says:

    I’m so jealous! This is what Buckingham Fountain looked like when I visited Chicago in 2011: http://i40.tinypic.com/2hd1xxy.jpg 😥 I still need to go back and see it in action someday.

    • moore5145 says:

      😦 You said you went in the winter before right? I think I saw something about it being in operation April-October. I guess in the winter they are afraid the water will freeze?

      • Mandy says:

        Yeah, I was there at the end of March. It was also colder than usual for that time of year. I wanted to do one of the river tours, but they weren’t running yet either. I need to revisit sometime in late summer/early fall, I think. It’s just so expensive!

        The plaza with Buckingham Fountain was completely deserted when I was there. It was really creepy. I mean, it’s HUGE and there were zero people around. It was sort of eerie.

Leave a Reply

