Current Postal Service News

The story on Google News that has been all the rage today has been the announcement that the U.S. Postal Service wants to stop delivering letters, magazines, etc. on Saturdays. However, they would still deliver packages. You can read all about it here. Congress would have to approve this, and if they do, what would this mean for the postcard world?

I think all it means is that instead of receiving our postcards in the mail on Saturday, we would just have to wait until Monday. Obviously, I love when I get mail because usually it is all postcards, but I don’t think it is the end of the world to wait two days to receive something. It would be different if the USPS announced that they were stopping letter deliveries altogether. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Online and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Current Postal Service News

  1. harrise says:

    I think you are right!! Years ago, they waited a very long time for mail!! I only occasionally get postcards (except from SJPC), so I guess I should start sending some more!! 🙂

    • moore5145 says:

      I don’t get too many actual postcards mailed to me either, I just meant ones I win online are usually mailed as first class letters, not packages. But I should probably mail more postcards as well 🙂 See you on Sunday!

  2. Mandy says:

    I don’t think it’s too big of a deal, honestly. I love getting mail, but these days most of it comes in the form of packages (which shouldn’t be affected by the change). Although I don’t really understand how not delivering paper mail on Saturdays is going to save that much time/money.

    • moore5145 says:

      I don’t understand how it will make a difference either. The trucks will still be using gas driving around on Saturdays, mailmen still getting paid for Saturdays, etc.

      • Mandy says:

        Right, plus all of that paper mail still has to be delivered. I don’t see how letting it sit around for an extra day is gonna help anything.

Leave a Reply

