Allentown Paper Show Findings

The Allentown Paper Show yesterday was AMAZING!! I got a lot of great cards, and also great Chicago World’s Fair memorabilia.

“Best Wishes for a Happy Hallowe’en.” Published by Wolf and pretty sure this is Clapsadde. It was mailed in 1921.

Keep ‘Em Flying Large Letter- Jefferson Barracks, Missouri. Mailed 1942 by a soldier.

San Francisco Hospitality House for Servicemen, mailed in 1942 by a soldier.

But I have to admit, my favorite purchase yesterday was not a postcard. The last thing I purchased at the show was two employee identification cards with passes for an employee working at an exhibit at the Chicago World’s Fair. His name was H.J. Bartlett, and he worked at the Crane Company exhibit. There is one ID for 1933 and one for 1934. The 1934 ID and pass also come with a health inspection card. I could not pass up this set!

This entry was posted in Shows/Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Allentown Paper Show Findings

  1. Louise Wile says:

    Nice finds! Good seeing you…… start saving for the fall show – it is TWO days & twice as many dealers.

  2. Mandy says:

    Those identification cards are pretty cool! Never seen anything like that before.

  3. bredlo says:

    I realize this is an older post, but had to stop and say thank you so, so much for the scans you posted of the Century of Progress employee IDs.

    My grandfather worked as a photographer during the fair, and his father was an influential donor. When I was in 2nd or 3rd grade (around 1980 or 81) Grandpa sent me to school with his photo ID (in a beautiful leather wallet) and a large book of original gelatin photos of the fair, for “Show and Tell”. The book made it safely home… but somehow I lost the ID wallet. 30 years later, it still haunts me. To see these again takes me right back to when I was 8, marveling at his young face and the fragile paper. Being a graphic designer, I’d like to use another period photo of him – and your scans – to create a tribute piece: a facsimile of my lost family treasure.

    Thanks again, Brad

Leave a Reply

