Greetings from U.S. to U

This linen card shows a U.S. bomber hanging out of his plane (and one in the distance) dropping bombs on Japan. There are a decent number of military cards I have seen that portray the U.S. beating up on Japanese people. It was sent by Chester Meredith shortly before he joined the Army in June of 1943.

“I am getting this card off to you before I leave for the army. Will maybe get a chance to see you some time.” Mailed to Carl J. Scheloske (?) in Erie, PA.

From what I could find on the internet, it looks like Chester made it through the war. As you can see on the back of the card, it says Mechanicsburg, PA at the top and the bottom. There is a Chester W. Meredith buried in Tower City, PA (an hour from Mechanicsburg) who served in the army. I am pretty sure this is him. He was born in 1916 and died in 2001.

This entry was posted in Military and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Greetings from U.S. to U

  1. Louise Wile says:

    Many, many WW II anti-axis / propaganda postcards available & collectible…. in all price ranges. Linens like this usually depict cartoon caricature of Hirohito (like this one), Hitler, Mussolini. For an excellent book on WW II propaganda postcards, see the one written by the late, great Ron Menchine. Interesting the soldier surivived & you were able to trace. wonder if my father ever mailed cards – they might still be out there. Sometimes hard to relate to the racist depictions, – I don’t collect these myself but sell them – you can find more in propaganda category, most dealers offer.

  2. Louise Wile says:

    interesting that the soldier not buried in a Veterans cemetery. He would have been 5 years older than my father, who served at same time, …. be interesting to find the family….. I have to go see if my father mailed any cards to my mother – I suspect he was too busy serving in the Pacific Theatre as a Naval officer. I don’t think we have any propaganda postcards of his.

  3. Louise Wile says:

    oh, awesome, if you click on his name, you can read the Veteran information. Served in Army, also gives rank, etc. amazing.

Leave a Reply

