Finds at the Mt. Laurel Postcard Show

Yesterday was the South Jersey Postcard Club’s postcard show in Mt. Laurel, NJ. My main focus while I was there was on postcards sent by soldiers during WWII, and I found a lot! I also added some Chicago V.O. Hammon cards to my collection I’ve always liked, but could never find postally used.

Above is a jiffy card. These cards had options where the sender would mark what they needed more of or what they had already received. I already had this one, but I liked how the soldier wrote “and lots of love and home cooked meals.” I also found several other jiffy cards! I suppose they got their name because they could be sent out in a jiffy when time was limited. They were published by WIPCO.

“Keep ‘Em Flying!” Pursuit flyers.

“We’ve got you spotted, lookout for air raids!” Comic Navy card. Mailed December 4, 1942 with a U.S. Navy postmark.

“Why, no, sailor, I don’t see your hat around here.” Notice how her sheets look like the ocean!

One of the V.O. Hammon Chicago cards I bought. Scene From Top of Chutes Towards Entrance, Forest Park. Mailed in September of 1909. The message on the back reads: “A big time in town today. Hurrah for “Taft” I expect to see him. EMS” William H. Taft was president from 1909-1913, so I am pretty sure that is who EMS meant. 😉

Overall, the Mt. Laurel show was a great show and always is. I found a lot of cards, my scanner is hating me today. I can’t wait to go again next year!

This entry was posted in Shows/Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finds at the Mt. Laurel Postcard Show

  1. Mandy says:

    Looks like some nice finds! The last time I went to a postcard show, I found a military comic folder for only $1. I sent it to my brother (an airman).

    • moore5145 says:

      Aww how nice! I bet he appreciated it! While I was at the show yesterday a dad found a postcard of Camp Carson for his son (which is now called Fort Carson) because he was going to be heading out there.

      • Mandy says:

        Oh that reminds me! A while back, I bought a huge lot of postcard folders in poor condition (to use for crafting), and I found several that were for military bases across the country. One of them had a photo of some soldiers tucked inside! You’d be surprised with some of the stuff you find tucked inside those folders…

  2. Harrise C. Kall says:

    I just love seeing what you bought and your comments! I love my new Dwig present from you – one of my favorites! Now I think I have a little of each Dwig series – maybe an entry board for next year!!

Leave a Reply

