1893 Columbian Exposition- Manufacturers and Liberal Arts Building Postcard

I won this card at the February meeting of the postcard club I belong to, in a miniature auction at the end. It is my first, and so far only, card from the 1893 Columbian Exposition.

This shows the Manufacturers and Liberal Arts Building. The message on the front describes the roof of the building and seeing rockets. I can’t make out all of the words or else I would type it out here.

As you can see, the back of the card has a lot going on. There are postmarks from the end of July and beginning of August, 1893. It was sent to Mr. A. Vickers in London, but the postmaster had written notes about his attempts at delivery. The gate to the residence was locked, and there was also no answer. There is a commemorative Columbus stamp from 1892.

All in all, this was a great card to add to my collection. Not only is it of the 1893 fair, but the back of the card is very interesting.

This entry was posted in Chicago and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1893 Columbian Exposition- Manufacturers and Liberal Arts Building Postcard

  1. Mandy says:

    Nice! I haven’t been lucky enough to acquire a card from the 1893 World’s Fair yet, but most of the ones I’ve seen on eBay didn’t have stamps! It was my understanding that the postage was included or something…? Although I suppose it might need an extra cent to get to London! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

