Book Review: Postcards from World War II

Postcards from World War II is one of my favorite books I have read about postcards so far. I find there is something fascinating and eerie about reading postcards from soldiers. Did the soldier writing live, die, what did they go through, etc.

This book incorporates postcards from American soldiers throughout the text. I like the fact that the book is divided up by year, and talks about major events that happened during the war in that specific year. Then, the postcards shown were postmarked in that year as well. Fun fact I learned from this book: daylight savings time was created during the war!

There is a glossary in the back of the book that has all the postcard messages in print in case you can’t read the postcard itself, which is useful. The only complaint I have about this book is there were several typos/mistakes. For example, saying “War World II” in one part and a wrong page number in the glossary of postcard messages. Other than that, I highly recommend reading this.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Postcards from World War II

  1. postcardy says:

    I have this book checked out of the library, but I haven’t read much of it yet. Most of my WWII cards are unused. I wish more had messages.

Leave a Reply

