Cute Postcard Message

In keeping with the Valentine’s Day theme from the last post, pictured here is a cute “message” on the back of a Clapsaddle Valentine’s Day card. I think this is the only card I have that has a picture on the back instead of being blank or having an actual message. My favorite is the drawing of the cat named Sambo.

I think the initials in the small hearts are of the person who sent this card, since it is going to someone named William Wetzel Sieg. But since the last two initials match William’s, I am going to guess it was from someone related to him. The card was postmarked in Steelton, PA in 1908.

This entry was posted in Ellen Clapsaddle, Messages and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cute Postcard Message

  1. James Hoy says:

    William Wetzel Sieg was my great grandfather. He was born in 1900. I had my mother look into who this could have possibly been sent from in the family, but to no avail. If you have any information about how you came to have this postcard in your collection or anything else related to the postcard, my whole family would be interested in knowing about it. Please let me know if you would be interested in any other postcards of an antique value as my mother has a collection of these from the Sieg family and others. I’m so glad you posted this.

    Jim Hoy

Leave a Reply

