I Can Go Some!

This postcard by Charles Twelvetrees pictures a girl dressed in a frilly dress saying “I’m Old-Fashioned but- I can go some.” Scandalous! This card is postmarked 1923 and I suppose this fashion was more from the late 1800s/early 1900s. That’s why she is old fashioned. But when she says she can go some- and is winking as well- it seems to me she is insinuating something sexual.

The card is published by Edward Gross Co. When I Google the whole term a Google Books Result comes up with sayings on calendar prints published by Brown & Bigelow in 1914. Was this a popular thing to say back then? Two different publishers on two different items used the saying. I guess we’ll never know!

This entry was posted in Charles Twelvetrees and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

