Chicago World’s Fair 1933-1934

The World’s Fair became a passion of mine this past summer. I have always collected Chicago postcards, but never was interested in any fair cards. Then I received two in a lot of Chicago cards I won and instantly fell in love with the art deco look of the fair.

After collecting the postcards, I started collecting pamphlets and Official World’s Fair Weekly magazines, which described the week’s upcoming events at the fair. The old advertisements in them are phenomenal.

The first year of the fair was 1933 and it was only supposed to last for one year. Because it was so popular, it went into 1934 as well. All the buildings were knocked down after the fair, minus some of the houses like the House of Tomorrow being moved to Beverly Hills, Michigan. The only remaining structural item in Chicago still from the fair is the Balbo column, a gift from the Italian government, located in it’s original spot.

One of my favorite fair videos (there’s also a part 2): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vS1muN35Hl4. I love the way the announcer speaks!

This entry was posted in 1933 Chicago World's Fair and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicago World’s Fair 1933-1934

  1. postcardy says:

    I started collecting Century of Progress cards because my parents worked at the fair. I also collect the Weekly magazines and a few pamphlets. My favorite cards are the advertising and exhibit cards. I have a website on the Century of Progress:
    http://www.cityclicker.net/chicfair/

  2. postcardy says:

    I just added your blog to my bloglist.

  3. modemjunkie says:

    I am in the process of creating a link to your site on “Trudel’s Truth- a blog from the past.” My mother’s letters home to Germany in 1934-35 The Fair was a major part of her life during her first summer in Chicago. Thank you for this wonderful site.

    Len
    http://www.lgrossman.com/trudel

Leave a Reply

